Nikolaj Znaider: Artist Portrait with the London Symphony Orchestra, May 2009

Schoenberg, Korngold and Brahms Violin Concertos conducted by LSO Principal Conductor Valery Gergiev and LSO President Sir Colin Davis

Artist Conversation streamed live over internet

The London Symphony Orchestra is delighted to welcome Danish violinist Nikolaj Znaider as the 2008/09 season LSO Artist Portrait where he will perform three concertos and a chamber recital with the LSO Chamber Ensemble, as well as take part in a Q&A with an LSO player, which will be broadcast live over the internet.

‘I’m so happy to be working with the Orchestra again, and especially with Sir Colin Davis and Valery Gergiev – they’re people with whom I have a real rapport…The LSO Discovery education programmes are wonderful, and vitally important for the future of music.’

Artist Conversation, Wednesday 6 May 2009, 11am – 12.30pm, LSO St Luke’s
A question and answer session with internationally renowned violinist Nikolaj Znaider. The conversation will also be streamed live over the internet so, if you are unable to attend in person, log on to to watch or submit a question.

Schoenberg Violin Concerto, Thursday 7 May 2009, 7.30pm, Barbican
Conducted by Valery Gergiev, the LSO and Nikolaj Znaider perform Schoenberg’s Violin Concerto, written in 1936 after the composer had fled Nazi Germany. The piece was first deemed unplayable but was soon mastered by the violinist Louis Krasner who premiered the work with the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1940.

The LSO and Valery Gergiev also perform Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements and Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances. Sponsored by Baker & McKenzie LLP.

Korngold Violin Concerto, Friday 8 May 2009, 7.30pm, Barbican
Composed by Erich Wolfgang Korngold in 1945, the work was dedicated to Alma Mahler – the wife and widow of Korngold’s childhood mentor – Gustav Mahler. The sumptuous and lyrical work is scored for elaborate forces and like many of his classical works, calls upon themes from the composer’s film scores.

The LSO and Valery Gergiev also perform Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements and Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances.

Brahms Violin Concerto, Sunday 24 May 2009, 7.30pm, Barbican
Brahms’s only violin concerto was composed in 1878 and is dedicated to the composer’s great friend the violinist Joseph Joachim, who premiered the work in Leipzig on New Year’s Day in 1879. LSO President Sir Colin Davis conducts and the LSO also performs Stravinsky’s Orpheus and Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro for Strings.

Brahms Sextet No 1 in B flat, Sunday 31 May 2009, 7.30pm, Barbican
Nikolaj Znaider directs the LSO Chamber Ensemble in a performance of the Brahms Sextet No 1 in B flat and Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht – both of which were composed when the two composers were only 25 years’ old.

Nikolaj Znaider Artist Portrait online: Violinist Nikolaj Znaider talks about the concertos he is playing with the LSO in May 2009 in an exclusive online video interview.

Tickets to LSO Barbican concerts: £7 - £32
Tickets to the LSO Chamber Ensemble concert: £7 - £19
Nikolaj Znaider Artist Conversation: Free entry, booking essential from Barbican Box Office
Secure online booking at (£1.50 booking fee)
Box office: 020 7638 8891 open Mon-Sat 9am – 8pm, Sun 11am-8pm (£2.50 booking fee)
In person at the Advance Box Office in the Barbican centre (Mon-Sat 9am – 9pm; Sun 12pm – 9pm)


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill