Delve into Mozart's fascinating world as Inside the Score returns to the Colorado Symphony

Join resident conductor Scott O'Neil and the Colorado Symphony for an intimate look at Mozart's life, relationships and music. If you think you know Mozart, think again!

Think you know Mozart? Think again. The Colorado Symphony and resident conductor Scott O'Neil will unveil a different, lesser-known side of Mozart at this weekend's Inside the Score concert, simply titled Letters From Mozart. The concert at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, January 20 won't simply showcase a "greatest hits" of Mozart. Rather, it aims to explore his early life before his days in Vienna, through both music and letters: Letters both to, and from, his closest friends and relatives, including his father, wife and sister. According to O'Neil, there is a surprising amount of humor and spice that comes through in the letters, which prove that Mozart's father was indeed the master of guilt trips.

Letters From Mozart presents a poignant selection of music from Mozart's oeuvre and features soprano Christie Hageman, pianist Katie Mann and members of the Colorado Symphony Chorus. Highlights of the concert promise to be the Second Movement of Sinfonia Concertante, one of the few works in the repertoire for both violin and viola soloists, as well as the Third Movement of Serenade No. 10 ("Gran Partita") that calls for basset horns, an instrument seldom heard in symphony halls because many orchestras substitute modern instruments. But this weekend, Denver concertgoers can anticipate this beautiful "operatic aria for woodwinds" – just as Mozart intended.

Letters From Mozart offers newcomers and seasoned concertgoers a new approach to the works of Mozart. Beginning with the First Movement of Symphony No. 1 and concluding with the Fourth Movement of Symphony No. 41, the last symphony he composed, the concert delves into Mozart's world and explores an aspect of his life overlooked in the film Amadeus. Through the narration of Mozart's own letters, concertgoers will gain a deeper understanding of his world. Since much of Mozart's life was spent on the road, there is a wealth of letters – the only form of communication available during his era – to explore.

Many of Mozart's most beloved works are featured in the concert, and audiences will delight in how Mozart's letters directly relate to the compositions in both a personal and historical context. Audiences will learn how the First Movement of the String Quartet in C earned the nickname of "Dissonance," why the Piano Concerto No. 20 is one of O'Neil's personal favorites, and how Mozart's relationship with his older sister Nannerl influenced his career. There is so much more to Mozart than you may have imagined! Join the Colorado Symphony at Letters from Mozart to discover aspects of Mozart's world that will shine new light on music that millions around the world cherish and love. Tickets are on sale now and start at $15.

Artists: Colorado Symphony Orchestra
Scott O’Neil, resident conductor
Christie Hageman, soprano
Katie Mahan, piano

Members of the Colorado Symphony Chorus
Duain Wolfe, chorus director


Symphony No. 1, First Movement
Exultate jubilate
Symphony No. 31, First Movement
Sinfonia Concertante, Second Movement
Serenade No. 10 ("Gran Partita"), Third Movement
Overture to the Abduction from the Seraglio
Piano Concerto No. 20, First Movement
String Quartet in C ("Dissonance"), First Movement
The Marriage of Figaro, Aria: "Dove sono"
Requiem, Lacrimosa
Symphony No. 41 ("Jupiter"), Fourth Movement
Performance: Friday, January 20 at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: Remaining tickets currently start at $15.

Tickets are on sale now at, the Colorado Symphony Box Office: (303) 623-7876 or (877) 292-7979 or in-person in the lobby of Boettcher Concert Hall in the Denver Performing Arts Complex. Hours are Monday to Friday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 12 p.m. to 6 p.m.


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill