The British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors are delighted to announce the winners in 13 categories of the 2012 British Composer Awards

Instrumental Solo or Duo Christian Mason Learning Self- Modulation

Chamber Thomas Adés The Four Quarters

Vocal Colin Matthews No Man’s Land

Choral Gabriel Jackson Airplane Cantata

Wind Band or Brass Band Simon Dobson A Symphony of Colours

Orchestral Sir Harrison Birtwistle Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Stage Works Jocelyn Pook DESH

Liturgical Francis Grier Missa Brevis

Sonic Art Ray Lee The Ethometric Museum

Contemporary Jazz Composition Christine Tobin Sailing to Byzantium

Community or Educational Paul Rissmann The Chimpanzees of Project Happytown

Making Music Award Emily Howard Mesmerism for Piano and Chamber Orchestra

International Award Thomas Larcher Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra

The Awards were presented at a ceremony at Goldsmiths' Hall, on Monday 3rd December 2012 which opened with a performance of Gareth Moorcraft’s Rondo? – winner of the third Student Competition at the British Composer Awards – performed by members of Endymion.


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill