It Must Be Fate - a synopsis

Due to the recent requests for some idea as to what the opera It Must Be Fate will be about, I am reposting the synopsis here. This isn't the complete libretto (although that will be available in the programme purchased at the concert) - but this should give you an idea into what to expect - come June 4th.


It Must Be Fate Synopsis

Setting: A cave on the side of Mt. Olympus, home to the triple aspect Goddess – Fate.

The three sister Goddesses of Fate, Clotho, the Virgin, Lachesis, the Mother and Atropos, the Crone sit weaving the tapestry of life. The ever present Greek Chorus voices the lives of the humans that are being woven. The work is repetitive and rhythmical – soothing – but Clotho is restive. She complains of being bored and briefly argues with her sisters before leaving the cave to get some air.

The Chorus comments that bored and restive children often get themselves in trouble – taking unexpected paths - making choices that parents would not approve of.

While Clotho is clearing her head, a human man, Jared, climbs the side of Mt Olympus to rail against the Fates for causing his grief. Clotho overhears his lament and is deeply moved. His pain moves her to examine her life and determine to make a change. She will re-enter life on the human level in order to get back in touch with all that has become distant through time. As she is coming to this decision her sisters come to see why she has not returned to the weaving and attempt to dissuade her from her choice, enjoining her to ‘come back to the cave’. Clotho is adamant; she is going! She will head down the mountain and she challenges her sisters to follow. Lachesis and Atropos are worried, but also excited at the possibility of a new life – they decide to join Clotho in the adventure.

The Fates and the Chorus look toward the uncertain future. What will happen to the Goddesses in a modern world?


Rob said…
Now I guarantee that if you'd had that picture on the publicity you'd have got more of an audience!

Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill