Valery Gergiev and the London Symphony Orchestra take Prokofiev to San Francisco

The London Symphony Orchestra puts on a great display of the ever-changing moods of Prokofiev’s music. From the hugely powerful Piano Concerto No. 4 to the stunning Symphony No. 6, Valery Gergiev (pictured) and the London Symphony Orchestra wander through Russian politics, tradition, and artistry.

Prokofiev's Fourth Symphony... reveals the LSO as the perfect Prokofiev orchestra, counterbalancing muscle with a shot-silk sheen.--The Independent

Concert Details:
Mon, Mar 16, 2009 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No 1 ('Classical')
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No 4 (for the left hand)
PROKOFIEV: Symphony No 6

Valery Gergiev conductor
Alexei Volodin piano

Ticket Prices start at $25 and can be ordered online at


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough