Mahler Symphony No. 2, "Resurrection" - Colorado Symphony Orchestra Season Finale!

To close the 2008-09 season, the Colorado Symphony Orchestra continues its multi-season Mahler Cycle with a climactic performance of Mahler's Symphony No. 2, "Resurrection" featuring two guest soloists and the CSO Chorus. A sequel to Mahler's First Symphony, performed by the CSO in September 2008, the Second Symphony continues Mahler's epic story which depicts his heroic character's journey and triumphant resurrection.

Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 2 in C minor is know as the "Resurrection" symphony. Originally, the symphony was written as a single movement symphonic poem called Totenfeier (Death Celebration) in 1888. After hearing Friedrich Gottlieb Klopstock's Die Auferstehung (The Resurrection) at the funeral of his friend Hans von Bülow, Mahler extended the piece, using the first two verses of Klopstock's hymn, adding his own verses that dealt more explicitly with redemption and resurrection. Mahler said the first two verses of Klopstock's hymn "...struck me like lightning, this thing and everything was revealed to me clear and plain." It was first performed in 1895.

Jeffrey Kahane is renowned as a pianist and conductor. Recognized by audiences around the world for his mastery of diverse repertoire from Bach to Gershwin, he has established a reputation as a truly versatile artist equally sought after as soloist, conductor, and chamber musician. Later this year Mr Kahane will appear at the Aspen Music Festival in July both as a pianist and as conductor. This is his twelfth season as Music Director of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, celebrating its 40th Anniversary this season, and continues his successful tenure as Music Director of the Colorado Symphony Orchestra. Under his leadership, both ensembles received 2007 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming.

Fri-Sat | June 5-6 · 7:30 pm
Sun | June 7 · 2:30 pm
Jeffrey Kahane, music director
Janice Chandler Eteme, soprano
Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano
CSO Chorus
Duain Wolfe, chorus director


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill