Louis Langrée Leads Baltimore Symphony and Simone Dinnerstein in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23

October 22-25 Program also includes Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 and Haydn’s “Funeral” Symphony

Baltimore, Md. (August 3, 2009) – Louis Langrée leads the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23 featuring Simone Dinnerstein on Thursday, October 22 at 8:00 p.m. and Sunday, October 25 at 3:00 p.m. at the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall and Saturday, October 24 at 8:00 p.m. at The Music Center at Strathmore. Also on the program are Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 and Haydn’s Symphony No. 44, “Funeral.”

Famous for her interpretation of Bach’s Goldberg Variations, Simone Dinnerstein will make her BSO debut with a performance of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23. Mozart composed this concerto in the same timeframe in which he completed The Marriage of Figaro, and many techniques used in this concerto are echoed in his famous opera. Mozart meant for this piece to stay within a small group of piano virtuosos―he himself most likely gave its first performance. Louis Langrée brings his own mastery of Mozart to the concerto, having directed the Mostly Mozart Festival for the past six seasons.

Book-ended by two of his more famous symphonies, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 is often overlooked. Completed in 1806, the work uses styles that emanate from those used by his teacher, Joseph Haydn. In contrast to Beethoven’s better-known symphonies, which grapple with big human issues, the Fourth shows the mischievous, life-affirming side of Beethoven’s genius.

Haydn’s Symphony No. 44 is nicknamed the “Symphony of Mourning” because Haydn requested the slow Adagio movement to be played at his funeral. Written during his “Sturm und Drang” (Storm and Stress) period, the music is darker and much more complex than his early works. It was generally assumed that classical pieces beginning in a minor key would end in an uplifting major key in order to dispel any sense of misery. This is not the case with Symphony No. 44, which has an ending reminiscent of tragedy and despair.

Simply Classical
Thursday, October 22, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. – Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall (JMSH)
Saturday, October 24, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. – Music Center at Strathmore
Sunday, October 25, 2009 at 3:00 p.m. – JMSH

Louis Langrée, conductor
Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Haydn: Symphony No. 44, "Funeral"
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23
Beethoven: Symphony No. 4

Tickets for these concerts range from $28 to $90 and go on sale September 1, 2009 through the BSO Ticket Office, 877.BSO.1444, 410.783.8000 or BSOmusic.org.


Popular posts from this blog

The Role of Music in Opera

16 Year Old Pianist Sophie Dee is Winner of Junior Guildhall Lutine Prize