Viktoria Mullova UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait with the London Symphony Orchestra

Viktoria Mullova, one of today’s great violinists, is the London Symphony Orchestra’s UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait in 2010. She will perform three violin concertos with the Orchestra: Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No 2, conducted by Andris Nelsons on 30 September; Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto conducted by Kristjan Järvi on 28 October and on 21 December, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto conducted by Sir John Eliot Gardiner.

Mullova will give a recital with fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout, performing Beethoven and Schubert, on 22 October at LSO St Luke’s, and on 26 October her new musical project with the Matthew Barley Ensemble, The Peasant Girl will be presented as part of the UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica series. Joined in LSO St Luke’s by pianist Julian Joseph, they will explore the gypsy-rooted Hungarian folk music of Bartók and Kodály, as well as special arrangements by Matthew Barley of music by influential American jazz band Weather Report.

‘I’m very excited that I was chosen to be artist in residence with a great orchestra like the LSO. It was the first English orchestra I played with in England in 1985, so that’s very special.’ - Viktoria Mullova

On 1 October from 2.30pm – 4.30pm Mullova will be the LSO’s Artist in Conversation, with practical demonstrations, at LSO St Luke’s. The event is part of the Centre for Orchestra programme, a unique collaboration between the London Symphony Orchestra, Guildhall School and the Barbican creating a forum in London for orchestral development in the 21st century. The conversation will focus on Mullova’s transition from Russian folk music to Western Baroque repertoire.

‘What’s impressed me about Viktoria as an artist is how she’s continued to extend the way she perfoms, and how she thinks about her music making. For an artist focus that’s an essential dimension to have.’ - Kathryn McDowell, LSO Managing Director

Viktoria Mullova studied at the Central Music School of Moscow and the Moscow Conservatoire. Her extraordinary talent captured international attention when she won first prize at the 1980 Sibelius Competition in Helsinki and the Gold Medal at the Tchaikovsky Competition in 1982 which was followed, in 1983, by her dramatic and much publicized defection to the West. She has since appeared with most of the world's greatest orchestras and conductors and at the major international festivals. She is now known the world over as a violinist of exceptional versatility and musical integrity. Her curiosity spans the breadth of musical development from baroque and classical right up to the most contemporary influences from the world of fusion and experimental music.


UBS Soundscapes: LSO Artist Portrait Viktoria Mullova

Thursday 30 September, 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait
WAGNER Overture: Tannhäuser
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No 2

Andris Nelsons conductor
Viktoria Mullova violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £8 - £32

Friday 1 October, 2.30pm, LSO St Luke’s
Artist Conversation with Viktoria Mullova
Admission free, booking essential

Friday 22 October, 8.00pm, LSO St Luke’s
UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait
BEETHOVEN Sonata in E flat Op 12 No 3
SCHUBERT Grand Duo in A major D574
BEETHOVEN Sonata No 9 in A major Op 47 ('Kreutzer')

Viktoria Mullova violin
Kristian Bezuidenhout fortepiano
Tickets: £8 - £22

Tuesday 26 October, 8.00pm, LSO St Luke's
UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica
BARTÓK (transcr BARLEY) Five Duos
WEATHER REPORT (arr BARLEY) Pursuit of the Woman
BARTÓK (transcr BARLEY) Four Duos
KODÁLY Sonata for violin and cello
BRATSCH (arr BARLEY) Er Nemo Klantz

Viktoria Mullova violin
Matthew Barley cello
Julian Joseph piano
Paul Clarvis drums
Sam Walton percussion
Tickets: £8 - £22

Thursday 28 October, 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait
BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes
STRAVINSKY Violin Concerto
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

Kristjan Järvi conductor
Viktoria Mullova violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £8 - £32

Tuesday 21 December, 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
UBS Soundscapes: Artist Portrait
WEBER Overture: Der Freischütz
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No 4 ('Italian')

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Viktoria Mullova violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £8 - £32

Secure online booking at (£1.50 booking fee)
Box office: 020 7638 8891 open Mon-Sat 9am – 8pm, Sun 11am-8pm (£2.50 booking fee)
In person at the Advance Box Office in the Barbican centre (no booking fee) (Mon-Sat 9am – 9pm; Sun 12pm – 9pm)


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"