Experience "The Four Seasons" With The Colorado Symphony

Masterworks by Bach and Vivaldi create a perfect Denver evening with the Symphony

DENVER – January 7, 2011 – Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons," one of the most loved masterworks of all time, is the centerpiece of three must-attend concerts with the Colorado Symphony on January 14, 15 and 16. Vivaldi's masterpiece of charm and warmth will fill Boettcher Concert Hall with pure musical delight as acclaimed violinist Jennifer Koh and conductor Matthew Halls join the Colorado Symphony for a concert of undoubted Baroque favorites. Two Bach masterworks complete this beautiful program: Bach's Suite from the Easter Oratorio and Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major – both long heralded as works of genius and inspiration that are an undoubted pleasure for audiences and musicians alike.

The evening begins with Bach's joyous celebration of Easter. Triumphant in rich orchestration and breathtaking energy, the Orchestral Suite captures the spirit of the Easter Oratorio. It's no surprise that it became one of the most popular and celebrated masterpieces of the Baroque era. The enjoyment continues with Bach's Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major; replete with dance movements that perfect this playful, charismatic masterwork. Then, concertgoers will be amazed by the beauty of Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons." Whether this is their first or twentieth time experiencing this masterwork performed live by a symphony orchestra, no concertgoer will be disappointed. Intuition, eloquence, brilliance and emotion are words that music lovers use to describe "The Four Seasons." This January, experience "The Four Seasons" with the Colorado Symphony and hear the brilliance come alive.

Friday, January 14 at 7:30 p.m., Saturday, January 15 at 7:30 p.m., and Sunday, January 16 at 2:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday: Come early and enjoy a Prelude to the performance.
Sunday: Come early and enjoy a Prelude to the performance or stay after for a Talkback session with Matthew Hall.

Colorado Symphony Orchestra
Matthew Halls, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin

J.S. BACH: Suite from the Easter Oratorio, BWV 249
J.S. BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major, BWV 1069
VIVALDI : The Four Seasons for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 8, Nos. 1-4


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough