Explore Dvorák's "New World" with The Colorado Symphony's "Inside The Score" Series

DENVER – January 7, 2011 – The Colorado Symphony's exciting new Inside the Score series continues in 2011 with "Dvorák's New World," an exploration of Dvorák's Symphony No. 9 in E Minor "From the New World" on Friday, January 21 at 7:30 p.m. During the first half of this Inside the Score concert led by Scott O'Neil, concertgoers experience a multi-media journey through this engaging masterwork, from its context in history to how it fits into the composer's output of works to the details of Dvorák's life that influenced its creation. During the second half, concertgoers experience the sparkling orchestration and melodic gifts of the full Symphony No. 9.

Dvorák's ninth and final symphony – popularly known as his "New World Symphony" – is a masterwork that has stirred debate about uniquely "American music," the specific influences on the piece and Dvorák's own Bohemian musical heritage. Most appreciably, Dvorák's Symphony No. 9 is beloved for its idealistic enthusiasm and universality, as well as its uncanny ability to arouse and capture the interest of newcomers to classical music. Composed during Dvorák's tenure as director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York, the Symphony No. 9 received its premiere in December 1893 and became an immediate and long-lasting success.

The Colorado Symphony's presentation of "Dvorák's New World" is a proud partner of the Czech Point Denver celebration, a citywide exploration of Czech arts and culture. The Colorado Symphony continues the celebration on Sunday, January 23 in its Family Series with "Dvorák Comes to America." Czech favorites, highlighting works by Dvorák, form the centerpiece of this annual "Side-by-Side" concert collaboration with the Denver Young Artists Orchestra.

One night only! Friday, January 21, 2011
A Czech Point Denver Celebration Concert

Colorado Symphony
Scott O'Neil, associate conductor

DVORÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor "From the New World"


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill