Sarah Chang performs Barber’s Violin Concerto in a Three-Concert Uk Tour with The Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra Conducted by Michael Sanderling

22 October, Usher Hall, Edinburgh, 7.30pm
23 October, Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, 7.30pm
26 October, Cadogan Hall, London, 7.30pm
Sarah Chang performs Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto with the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Michael Sanderling, in Edinburgh, Manchester and London in October. The programmes in Manchester and London are completed by Brahms’ Variations on a Theme of Haydn and Dvořák’s Symphony No 9 (From the New World). In Edinburgh Beethoven’s Egmont Overture opens the programme.

Sarah Chang is recognised as one of the world’s great violinists. Since her debut with the New York Philharmonic at the age of eight she has performed with the greatest orchestras, conductors and accompanists internationally in a career spanning more than two decades.

Michael Sanderling became Principal Conductor of the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra at the beginning of the 2011/12 season. The Orchestra is one of the oldest and most respected symphony orchestras in Germany with a long history of success under some of the world’s leading conductors, including Kurt Masur, Herbert Kegel, Michel Plasson, Marek Janowski and Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos.

Michael Sanderling regularly appears with the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Staatskapelle Dresden, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, Berner Symphonieorchester, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg and the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra.

22 October, Usher Hall, Edinburgh, 7.30pm,
23 October, Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, 7.30pm,
26 October, Cadogan Hall, London, 7.30pm,
Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra
Michael Sanderling conductor
Sarah Chang violin
Beethoven Overture to Egmont (Edinburgh only)
Brahms Variations on a theme by Haydn (Manchester & London only)
Barber Violin Concerto, Op.14
Dvořák Symphony No.9 in E minor ‘From the New World’


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill