Yannick Nézet-Séguin conducts Rachmaninov and Dvorak

Yannick Nézet-Séguin joins the London Philharmonic Orchestra next Wednesday to conduct symphonies by two nineteenth century composers loved for their lively, tuneful music. Mendelssohn's Symphony 4 (Italian) opens the programme, reflecting the composer's impressions of his journeys in Italy as well as Mendelssohn's own prodigious energy and vitality.

The concert ends with Dvořák's Symphony 7. The emotional depths that Dvořák explored in this piece generate rich and satisfying music, in which tension, melancholy and doubt are eventually relieved by brave themes in the finale. We look forward to a passionate and committed performance from Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the orchestra, whose concerts of Mussorgsky, Bruckner and Brahms earlier this season were outstanding.

Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto 2 is the centrepiece of the programme, with soloist Aldo Ciccolini.

Tickets £9-£55
London Philharmonic Orchestra Ticket Office
020 7840 4242 Mon-Fri 10am - 5pm. No booking fee.
www.lpo.org.uk No booking fee.

Southbank Centre Ticket Office
0871 663 2530 Daily, 9am - 8pm. £2.50 booking fee.
www.southbankcentre.co.uk/lpo £1.45 online booking fee


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill