Nearly 600 Amateur Musicians Join Baltimore Symphony Orchestra for First-Ever “Rusty Musicians with the BSO” Concerts

Feb 2 & 4th Concerts celebrate Orchestra’s fifth anniversary at Strathmore

To celebrate the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra’s fifth anniversary at Strathmore, local amateur musicians will join the BSO on stage at the Music Center at Strathmore to perform the fourth movement from Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 on Tuesday, February 2, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. and Thursday, February 4, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. Between the two evenings, nearly 600 amateur musicians will perform onstage with the Orchestra, led by BSO Music Director Marin Alsop. Each evening will be split into four separate 40-minute sessions, beginning at 6:00 p.m., 7:00 p.m., 8:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. “Rusty Musicians with the BSO” is in keeping with the BSO’s vision to increase the community’s involvement in music and serve as a cultural resource for the Baltimore-Washington region. General admission tickets for both evenings are available for $10.

“The greater-Washington, D.C. community has been incredibly supportive of BSO programs since the Music Center at Strathmore first opened five years ago,” says Maestra Alsop. “What better way to thank them for their support than to invite them onstage to collaborate in an intimate, meaningful way? By engaging patrons in this directly participatory experience, we are tearing down the walls that separate us from our audiences.”

Rusty Musicians with the BSO at Strathmore
Tuesday, February 2, 2010 at 6:00 p.m.—The Music Center at Strathmore
Thursday, February 4, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. – The Music Center at Strathmore

Tickets for these concerts are $10 general admission and can be purchased through the BSO Ticket Office, 877.BSO.1444, 410.783.8000 or


violinhunter said…
This is magnificent!!!! BRAVO!!! I would say this is the equivalent of close-up magic done by a master magician. Congratulations to Maestra Alsop and the BSO Administration.

Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill