London Symphony Orchestra Conducted By Valery Gergiev Performs With Xiv International Tchaikovsky Competition Winners

The 1st prize-winners in the piano, cello and voice categories of the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition will make their debut with the London Symphony Orchestra and Valery Gergiev in the Barbican Hall on 21 September. Cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan will perform Tchaikovsky’s Roccoco Variations and pianist Daniil Trifonov the composer’s First Piano Concerto. Soprano Sun Young Seo performs the Letter Scene from Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin and baritone Jong Min Park King Rene’s Aria from Iolanta. The concert opens with the Polonaise from Eugene Onegin.

For more than 50 years the International Tchaikovsky Competition has been regarded around the world as one of the major events in the global music community and as an outstanding opportunity for extraordinary young musicians to gain international recognition and establish their careers. The competition is held once every four years, embracing the four disciplines of piano, violin, cello and voice (with separate prizes for men and women). 2011 saw the competition not only presented simultaneously for the first time at a number of halls in both Moscow and St Petersburg and streamed extensively online, but also Valery Gergiev, LSO Principal Conductor and one of the most celebrated and influential musicians in the world today, taking up the post of Chairman of the Competition and judging panel.

Wednesday 21 September 2011, 7pm,

TCHAIKOVSKY Polonaise from Eugene Onegin;
Letter Scene from Eugene Onegin;
Roccoco Variations;
King Rene's Aria from Iolanta;
Piano Concerto No1

Valery Gergiev conductor
Narek Hakhnazaryan cello
Daniil Trifonov piano
Sun Young Seo soprano
Jong Min Park baritone
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10–£35 Secure online booking at
 Box office: 020 7638 8891, open Mon–Sat 10am–8pm, Sun 11am–8pm
In person at the Advance Box Office in the Barbican Centre (Mon–Sat 10am–9pm; Sun 12pm–9pm)


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough