Sir Antonio Pappano Conducts the London Symphony Orchestra with Violinist Leonidas Kavakos

Sir Antonio Pappano conducts the London Symphony Orchestra on 15 February in Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra. Composed in 1943, the work consists of five movements, with the fourth movement Intermezzo parodying the march theme from Shostakovich’s Seventh (‘Leningrad’) Symphony.
The concert opens with Rachmaninov’s symphonic poem Isle of the Dead, inspired by a painting of a coffin crossing dark waters by Swiss artist Arnold Böcklin. Violinist Leonidas Kavakos joins the orchestra to perform Korngold’s Violin Concerto, composed using themes from Korngold’s Hollywood film scores.

There will be a free pre-concert performance of Rachmaninov’s Preludes Op 23 by Guildhall School pianist Ashley Fripp.

Wednesday 15 February 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
RACHMANINOV Isle of the Dead
KORNGOLD Violin Concerto
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £10-£35


Popular posts from this blog

The Role of Music in Opera

Episode 210b: Joyeuse le départ