Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Performs Video Game Symphony
Distant Worlds: music from FINAL FANTASY, June 27

Arnie Roth to conduct; images from Final Fantasy series projected above the stage.

Baltimore, Md. (February 27, 2009)– Grammy award-winning conductor Arnie Roth (pictured)leads the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in Distant Worlds: music from FINAL FANTASY, by Japanese video game composer Nobuo Uematsu on Friday, June 27 at 8:00 p.m. at the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall. Celebrating the beloved music of Final Fantasy, the program will include compositions from games throughout the series, with video graphics from the popular game projected on a screen above the stage. See below for complete program information.

In the summer of 2008, the BSO performed Play! A Video Game Symphony, also under the direction of Arnie Roth, earning rave reviews and the gratitude of local gamers. This concert taps into that enthusiasm once again, bringing what critics include among the best orchestral works written for a video game. Featuring 13 favorite selections, such as “Aerith’s Theme” (VII), “Theme of Love” (IV) and “Vamo Alla Flamenco” (IX), with well known graphics from the Final Fantasy series projected on a large screen above the orchestra, this concert is an enveloping aural and visual treat for gamers and curious alike.

Many of the visual and music innovations such as realistic character models, full motion videos and orchestrated music were made popular by the Final Fantasy series. Owned by Square Enix, this wildly successful series is the fourth best-selling video game franchise, having sold over 85 million units over its 20 years of production. The Baltimore Symphony Orchestra is pleased to perform the East Coast debut concert of Distant Worlds: music from FINAL FANTASY.

Conductor Arnie Roth shares, “I am excited to be conducting Nobuo Uematsu's captivating music and to collaborate with him on Distant Worlds: music from FINAL FANTASY!”

Arnie Roth, conductor
A classically trained violinist, conductor, composer, producer and Grammy award-winning artist, Arnie Roth performs across a wide array of musical genres. Mr. Roth has conducted the London Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony, Hollywood Bowl Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Dallas Symphony, Houston Symphony, BBC Symphony, San Francisco Symphony, San Diego Symphony, Winnipeg Symphony, Joffrey Ballet Orchestra, Ravinia Festival Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic and the Sydney Symphony.

Since 2004, Mr. Roth has brought critical acclaim to the Chicagoland Pops Orchestra as music director and principal conductor showcasing artists such as Michael Feinstein, Linda Elder, Art Garfunkel, Linda Ronstadt, Wynonna Judd, Judy Collins, the Beach Boys and Johnny Mathis. Under his direction the Chicagoland Pops Orchestra appeared in a nationally broadcast PBS Special featuring The Irish Tenors. Mr. Roth has performed with a host of artists, including Il Divo, Diana Ross, Jewel, The Three Tenors, Charlotte Church, Josh Groban, Patrick Stewart, Branford Marsalis and Andrea Bocelli. He is also a long-time member of the Grammy award-winning group Mannheim Steamroller.

Mr. Roth was the music director and conductor of Dear Friends: Music from Final Fantasy, and PLAY! A Video Game Symphony, featuring music from blockbuster video games (such as Final Fantasy, World of Warcraft, Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind and Battlefield 1942). Mr. Roth conducted PLAY! with many international orchestras including the National Symphony, Baltimore Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Singapore Symphony and Sydney Symphony Orchestra at the Sydney Opera House.

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Presents Distant Worlds: music from FINAL FANTASY
Friday, June 27 at 8:00 p.m. – Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall

Arnie Roth, conductor
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Local choir, TBD

Tickets range from $30 to $68 and are available on March 2, 2009 through the BSO Ticket Office, 410.783.8000, 877.BSO.1444 or


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill