Sasha Grynyuk Performs Prestigious Guildhall Wigmore Recital Prize

Pianist performs winner’s recital at Wigmore Hall (London) 6 March, 7.30pm

Guildhall School pianist Sasha Grynyuk (pictured) has been announced as the winner of this year’s inaugural Guildhall Wigmore Recital Prize, a major new annual award celebrating the talent of Guildhall musicians.

The prize, part of the ongoing partnership between the Guildhall School and London’s prestigious recital venue, awards a Guildhall School musician with a recital at Wigmore Hall. Barry Ife, Principal of the Guildhall School, commented “The award recognises the exceptional talent of Guildhall musicians and gives the winner an invaluable performance opportunity before they embark on their professional career.” John Gilhooly, Artistic & Executive Director of Wigmore Hall, said “'This ongoing association provides a special platform for the most talented Guildhall students at one of the world's most important concert venues.”

The finals of the prize were held at the Guildhall School on 15 October, when five senior musicians competed before a jury consisting of John Gilhooly, Wray Armstrong (Senior Vice President and Co-Director, IMG Artists), Adam Gatehouse (Editor of Live Music, BBC Radio 3) and Jonathan Vaughan (Director of Music at the Guildhall School). Finalists were Brian O’Kane, cello; Alexander Karpeyev, piano; Bartholomew LaFollette, cello; Rowan Hellier, mezzo-soprano; and Sasha Grynyuk, piano, who was announced as the first winner of the Guildhall Wigmore Recital Prize.

The programme for the winner’s Wigmore Hall recital, 6 March 2009 at 7.30pm, will be:

HAYDN Piano Sonata in B minor Hob XVI / 3
LIGETI 3 Etudes
PROKOFIEV Piano Sonata No. 7 op. 83
CHOPIN 24 Preludes op. 28

Tickets: £15, £13, £10, £8 available from Wigmore Hall Box Office (020 7935 2141)


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill