Andrew Grams Leads the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in an All-Mozart Program, May 23

BSO Principal Philip Munds performs Mozart’s Horn Concerto No. 2

Guest conductor Andrew Grams will lead the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in its last Casual Concert Series performance this season featuring an All-Mozart Program on Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 11:00 a.m. at the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall. This program will also be performed at Frederick Community College on Wednesday, May 20, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. The program includes three of Mozart’s works, including his Horn Concerto No. 2 (performed by BSO principal Philip Munds), Symphony No. 36, “Linz” and the first movement of Symphony No. 38, “Prague.” As part of the Casual Concert Series, coffee and pastries will be on sale in the lobby at 10:00 a.m. Please see below for complete program information.

Written for friend and horn player Joseph Leutgeb, Mozart’s Horn Concerto No. 2 memorializes the horn player’s talents on the unwieldy natural horn still in use in the late 18th century. The original score of Horn Concerto No. 2 is an offering of friendship, inspired by the horn's origins as the signal instrument for aristocratic hunting parties. BSO Principal Philip Munds, a musician who has been hailed by The Baltimore Sun for his “terrific contributions” to BSO programs, will perform the concerto.

Symphony No. 36, “Linz” is now known as one of Mozart’s finest symphonic works, so inventive and beautifully crafted that its short gestation is quite impressive. After a three-month visit with his family during the summer of 1783, Mozart stopped en route to Vienna at the city of Linz. While staying with Count Thun, one of Austria's most powerful nobles, his host asked Mozart to present one of his symphonies at the court. He completed Symphony No. 36 in just five days. The product of his efforts is a symphony worthy of a noble court and associated with lofty ceremony.

Mozart’s Symphony No. 38, “Prague,” was written for the Prague Opera House after the success of Mozart’s comic opera The Marriage of Figaro. Delighted and honored by the Opera House’s commission, Mozart completed the symphony in just over a year. “Prague” has only three movements rather than the four that was customary in Mozart's symphonies at the time. The first movement of the “Prague” will be performed as part in this program.

Andrew Grams, conductor
Young American conductor Andrew Grams has served as the resident conductor of the Florida Orchestra and completed his three-year term as assistant conductor of The Cleveland Orchestra in 2007. He was appointed to that post by Franz Welser-Möst in June 2004. In 2002, Grams was appointed the assistant conductor of the Reading Symphony Orchestra in Pennsylvania and returned to conduct that orchestra again in 2005. As one of America’s most promising and talented young conductors, Mr. Grams has already made debut appearances with many of the great orchestras of the world including The Philadelphia Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony, the St. Louis Symphony, the National Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of Santa Cecilia Rome and the orchestras of Baltimore, Dallas and Houston.

A Maryland native raised in Severn, Andrew Grams began conducting at the age of 17, when he directed the World Youth Symphony Orchestra at Interlochen Arts Camp in Michigan. In 1999 he received a bachelor of music degree in violin performance from the Juilliard School and in 2003 he received a conducting degree from the Curtis Institute of Music. Also an accomplished violinist, Mr. Grams was a member of the New York City Ballet Orchestra at Lincoln Center from 1998 to 2004, serving as acting associate principal second violin in 2002 and 2004. In addition, he has performed with ensembles including the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, the Brooklyn Philharmonic, and the New Jersey Symphony.

Philip Munds, horn
A California native, Philip Munds attended the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, graduating in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in music. After graduation, he remained in the Bay area and played for the San Francisco Symphony, the San Francisco Opera and Ballet orchestras, the Berkeley Symphony and the Santa Cruz Symphony Orchestra. In 1989 he moved east to play with the United States Air Force Band in Washington, D.C. While playing associate principal horn in the band, he also performed extensively with the Air Force Woodwind Quintet. In 1997, Mr. Munds left the service and filled the position of assistant principal horn with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and in 2004, was appointed principal horn under Maestro Temirkanov. He currently teaches at the Peabody Conservatory.

BSO at Frederick: All Mozart
Wednesday, May 20, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. – Frederick Community College
The Jack B. Kussmaul Theater
7932 Opossumtown Pike
Frederick, MD 21702

Casual Concert Series: All Mozart
Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 11:00 a.m. – Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall
Come early for coffee and pastries, on sale at 10:00 a.m.

Andrew Grams, conductor
Philip Munds, horn

Tickets for this concert range from $20 to $60. Tickets are available through the BSO Ticket Office, 877.BSO.1444, 410.783.8000 or


Popular posts from this blog

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill