London Symphony Orchestra Continues Nielsen Symphony Cycle with Sir Colin Davis

The London Symphony Orchestra and LSO President Sir Colin Davis continue their cycle of Nielsen symphonies with performances of the Symphony No. 2 on 4 & 6 December and Symphony No. 3 on 11 & 13 December. The four movements of Nielsen’s Symphony No. 2 were inspired by a caricature of ‘The Four Temperaments’ which the composer came across in a country pub; Choleric, Phlegmatic, Melancholic and Sanguine. Nielsen’s Symphony No. 3, ‘Espansiva’, refers to ‘the outward growth of the mind’s scope’ and features influences from Nordic folk music.

In addition to the Nielsen cycle, Mitsuko Uchida completes her survey of Beethoven’s piano concertos with the Piano Concerto No. 4 on 4 & 6 December and Piano Concerto No. 5 (‘Emperor’) on 11 & 13 December. Beethoven was the soloist at the premiere of his Fourth Piano Concerto, his last public concert before deafness prevented him from performing. Beethoven’s fifth and final concerto was first performed in 1811, and was nicknamed the ‘Emperor’ by composer Johann Baptist Cramer for its heroic themes.

The programmes include Haydn’s Symphonies No. 93 & No. 98, two of the twelve ‘London’ symphonies Haydn wrote during his first visit to the city.

Sunday 4 & Tuesday 6 December 2011 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
HAYDN Symphony No 98
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 4
NIELSEN Symphony No 2 ('The Four Temperaments')
Sir Colin Davis conductor
Mitsuko Uchida piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday 11 & Tuesday 13 December 2011 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
HAYDN Symphony No 93
NIELSEN Symphony No 3 ('Sinfonia Espansiva')
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 5 ('Emperor')
Sir Colin Davis conductor
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Lucy Hall soprano
Marcus Farnsworth baritone
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £15 £19.50 £27 £35
Secure online booking at (booking fee)
Box office: 020 7638 8891 open Mon-Sat 10am – 8pm, Sun 11am-8pm (booking fee)
In person at the Advance Box Office in the Barbican centre (no booking fee)
(Mon-Sat 10am – 9pm; Sun 12pm – 9pm)


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

Pacific Symphony's Ninth American Composers Festival Explores The Composers And Music That Belonged To "Hollywood's Golden Age"

New Music: "A Sweeter Music" by Sarah Cahill