Atlanta Symphony Orchestra To Perform World Premiere of Wynton Marsalis's Blues Symphony

Concert To Also Feature Pianist Olli Mustonen Performing Ravel’s Piano Concerto, Bernstein’s Prelude, Fugue and Riffs, And Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Music Director Robert Spano will lead the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in the World Premiere of Pulitzer Prize-winning composer-musician Wynton Marsalis’s new symphonic work, Blues Symphony. The new work celebrates the blues through the prism of different moments in American history, and will be the first work by Marsalis composed exclusively for symphony orchestra. Mr. Marsalis will not be playing on this piece. The evening’s performance will also include Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G with guest pianist Olli Mustonen, Bernstein’s Prelude, Fugue and Riffs featuring the ASO’s Principal Clarinetist Laura Ardan, and Gershwin’s An American in Paris, on November 19 and 20, 2009, at 8:00 p.m. and November 22, 2009, at 3:00 p.m. at Atlanta Symphony Hall at the Woodruff Arts Center.

Ticket Prices: $25 - $80
Thu, Nov 19, 2009 | 8:00 PM
Fri, Nov 20, 2009 | 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 22, 2009 | 3:00 PM


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of String Quartets by Brian Ferneyhough

The Role of Music in Opera