Guildhall Symphony Orchestra presents World Premiere of Edward Nesbit’s Kojata

3 November 2009, 7.30pm, Barbican Hall

The Guildhall Symphony Orchestra performs for the first time under the baton of James Gaffigan, Associate Conductor of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. Alongside Mahler’s intense final symphony and Strauss’s early wind piece is a new work from Guildhall composer Edward Nesbit. Kojata won the Ian Horsbrugh Memorial Prize earlier in the year and here receives its world premiere, conducted but up-and-coming Guildhall conductor Ben Gernon.

Edward Nesbit studied Composition with Julian Anderson at the Guildhall School for two years and in 2009 went on to the Britten-Pears Contemporary Composition and Performance Course, where he is currently studying with Oliver Knussen, Colin Matthews and Magnus Lindberg. His works have been widely performed in many London venues.

The concert is preceded by a free performance presenting new works by Guildhall School composers, 6.30pm in the Barbican Foyer.

Reserved £15, £10 (£5 concessions), available from the Barbican Box Office from 1 September.
020 7638 8891 (
Group discount available (020 7382 7211).


Popular posts from this blog

The Role of Music in Opera

16 Year Old Pianist Sophie Dee is Winner of Junior Guildhall Lutine Prize